author img


CDLS Administrator

The new Council members of Cardiff & District Law Society (CDLS) were elected last night at our Annual General Meeting 2021.

The AGM – hosted in person in Cardiff city centre and live-streamed to those who were unable to join in person, was the first opportunity for our members to come together in person and provided an extra special platform for the outgoing President and newly elected Council to celebrate its achievements of the past 18 months, despite the unprecedented challenges facing its members during the pandemic.

Caron Rockey, who led the helm of CDLS for over 18 months, gave a speech highlighting the varied ways in which the society has engaged, supported and inspired our members, mainly in the virtual world, before being able to take part in some in-person activities in recent weeks

Caron then handed over to Tom Black (Eversheds Sutherland), our new president, who outlined his aims and ambitions for the society, and introduced his charities of year ahead – Bullies Out and Asylum Justice.


Jenine Abdo (Huttons) is now the vice-president and Rhian Hooton (Irwin Mitchell) joins as junior vice-president. Caron Rockey was presented with her immediate past-president’s badge by our honorary secretary and past president, Rachelle Sellek (Acuity Law) as Steve Roberts (Richard Nelson LLP) joins our list of past-presidents.

Our greatest thanks to all those who were able to join us on for the AGM and for those in-person, who stayed to celebrate our new president with drinks and canapés at the Radisson Blu hotel in Cardiff.

We will share copies of the speeches with you soon. Our new president also announced that we will launch our forthcoming social and training events soon, and aim to host our next annual dinner in May 2022.



Image 1, L-R: Jenine Abdo, Huttons, Caron Rockey, Martyn Prowel Gartsides & Tom Black, Eversheds Sutherland

Image 2, L-R: Caron Rockey & Rachelle Sellek (Acuity Law)

Image 3: Tom Black, CDLS president

Image 4, L-R:Rhian Hooton, Irwin Mitchell (junior vice-president), Tom Black, Eversheds Sutherland (president), Jenine Abdo, Huttons (vice-president)